BTP’s First Tap Takeover at The Wellington Gastropub

BTP Tap Takeover at The Wellington GastropubLast Sunday I made my way to The Wellington Gastropub for Beyond The Pale’s first ever Tap Takeover and let me just say it’s one of the best events I’ve been to in awhile. If Great beer, stellar food, and being surrounded by awesome company doesn’t make for a good Sunday, then I don’t know what does.

I arrived nice and early at noon, I wanted to make sure I had a chance to try everything on cask before the majority of the people attended. I knew the advance tickets had sold out so I wanted to make sure I could at least try everything once in case shortage came about. I can tell you that wasn’t an issue, when we walked in and being the first to arrive (I went with @AThibert & @varxint) we noticed a line of casks along the bar. So many more casks then I had expected, I was a happy girl.

Owners Shane Clark and Rob McIssac were nothing but hospitable and it was really nice to see them mixing with the crowd and genuinely intrigued by what people thought of their product. I was happy to see a lot of familiar faces, a bunch of the Barley’s Angels took up a corner of the Gastropub. I also finally got to meet one of the Brew Brahs, JC Duff (Brew Brahs is a blog that I’ve been following since I first started mine back in the fall.) I actually met a lot of stellar people that afternoon, from beer reps, brewers, and other beer bloggers. I really enjoyed my time mingling about, usually I’m short for time and never get to really socialize.

As far as beer goes, I tasted a fair amount. I ended up being there from noon until 7pm, though that hasn’t stopped me from remembering my favourite beers of the afternoon. Pink Fuzz (Dry Grapefruit Addition) on cask had to be my favourite, I actually distinctly wrote in my notes “this is trouble!!!” The aroma came off strong as if you had just sliced a fresh grapefruit. Dense head, with nice lacing. As for the taste, it was incredibly smooth, just wow. The flavours in unison roll across the palate for a light citrus finish. I was also really happy with the I Pine For You Brown Ale (Simcoe DryHop) the collaboration beer with the Gastropub. Strong pine aroma, deep brown (almost smokey looking) minimal head. Pine notes are extremely dominant in the first taste, and you can really taste the simcoe. Good carbonation this is a beer I would definitely drink again.

The overall atmosphere and experience of the event was great, although the crowd definitely wasn’t as large as other events I have attended it still made a lasting impression. I honestly prefer the smaller experience, where I can actually discuss beer in a comfortable conversational tone instead of screaming over everyone else. Like others my only complaint would be it being on a Sunday, I can tell you trying to weld the next morning was not a fun experience.

– The Beer Gypsy

Published by

The Beer Gypsy

Beer & Lifestyle Blogger based in Toronto, Canada.

One thought on “BTP’s First Tap Takeover at The Wellington Gastropub

Leave a Reply

