Cassel Brewery – Release of Maple Rye Ale

Last weekend I kicked it into gear a bit and dCassel Breweryecided to step out of beer hibernation in full force (As you can tell the last few months I’ve been very distant from this blog.) I attended the second event organized by the Barley’s Angels Ottawa at Cassel Brewery.

Cassel Brewery is a nanobrewery located along the railway tracks in Casselman, Ontario. Opening their doors in July of 2012 this small brewery has picked up steam releasing six beers, as well as recently launching their seventh debuted as a “Railroad Special – Seasonal Edition.

The Barley’s Angels were invited out to try this new seasonal bottled product and get a first hand look on the small space where they produce & bottle all of their beer. Greeted at the door by co-owner Ben Bercier, I was quickly offered a beer (He opened up a growler of their IPA) Instantly I was happy, how I love a good hop. I joined some of the fellow angels and we chatted as we waited for others to arrive and to get the event started.

Cassel BreweryThroughout the evening we ended up tasting 6 of their products. The L’il Red Steamer Red/Amber Ale, Golden Rails Honey Brown Ale, Hopper Car IPA, Black Express Stout (which is no longer available until the fall) as well as their newly bottled summer seasonal White Fog a slightly offstyle version of a Belgian Witbier, and the newly bottled Maple Rye Ale.

We were also given the grand tour, I’ve been to a handful of breweries and this would have to be the smallest, but that doesn’t stop them from producing a great product.

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with the over-all experience, I had previously contacted Ben in regards of bringing Cassel Brewery to Lock 17 but unfortunately at that time it wasn’t available in the my area. So I had heard and researched about the brewBarley's Angels at Cassel Breweryery but never been, I’m happy I finally had the chance to get out there.

Cassel Brewery is open Wednesday – Friday 4pm-6pm & Saturday – Sunday 10am-5pm. Growlers range from $11-$13 depending on beer choice plus a $4 bottle deposit. If you can’t make it out to the brewery the only way you’ll get a chance at the moment to drink some of this delicious beer is to find it on tap at one of these restaurants in the Ottawa & surrounding area.

*Third photo taken by Maggie Barron (Barley’s Angels Member)
Leave a Reply

