Let’s be honest, what’s sexier than a woman who knows her craft beer?

Working so much the past couple of months has left me with hardly any time to read. Yesterday I made my way into Ottawa to Chapters to see if I could find a good book. I have a hard time picking out books, I always end up buying a book and losing interest. So as I made my way around Chapters I ended up in the Cooking section… as much as I need a new cookbook I crept my way overthe naked pint to the beer section. Most of the books were dry and I knew I wasn’t going to be able to read them without falling asleep, but as I was loosing hope I came across “The Naked Pint” by Christina Perozzi & Hallie Beaune immediately I picked it up and skimmed through it, seemed interesting enough. What caught my eye was how even though it’s packed with tons of information the text is laid back and fun, just like how Craft Beer should be. Also it didn’t hurt that it was written by two women which made me really happy. Without wanting to spend forever in the store (as I had already been in there for an hour) I made my way to cashier, checked out, grabbed Starbucks and headed home.

When I opened the book I was really excited, I enjoy reading as much as it might make me a nerd. The last book I read was in the summer and it had been one I have read a numerous amount of times. Reading the Introduction I soon realized that this book is going to be good. The one paragraph was really relatable and made me smile…

“Yes, We’re Women and We Drink Beer”
“Women are out there drinking craft beer and brewing and writing about it every day, so there’s reason women should feel that beer is not for the ladies. It’s true the image of women and beer on the tube has generally involved double-D boobs and a wet T-shirt, but we can assure you, our T-shirts are dry. And, though we think craft beer is indeed sexy and are sometimes happy to wear six-inch heels while drinking an Abbey Dubbel, beer is not only an afterthought of female stereotypes…. Let’s be honest, what’s sexier than a woman who knows her craft beer?” (C. Perozzi & H. Beaune. The Naked Pint: An Unadulterated Guide to Craft Beer. New York, Penguin Group, 2009. Print.)
So as I continue to read the book, hopefully I gain some more knowledge on my favourite beverage and possibly some ideas to use in the future.

Now, time to get ready for work.

– The Beer Gypsy

Want to know more about the Authors of the book? Check out their website: The Beer Chicks.

Published by

The Beer Gypsy

Beer & Lifestyle Blogger based in Toronto, Canada.

2 thoughts on “Let’s be honest, what’s sexier than a woman who knows her craft beer?

Leave a Reply

