A Health Kick!

This summer was pretty much like one big party. Brandy and I lived in a two bedroom cottage on the Rideau Canal 1km away from work. It was convenient and cheap, only downside was lack of insulation. We moved in April, which now looking back was slightly ridiculous due to the fact that it was still -5 and below some nights. We managed to bundle up in insulated sleeping bags, wear gloves, hats, pretty much anything just to keep us warm. Once the summertime actually hit we were more so complaining about the heat. We then lived in a roasting box. Beside the fluctuating temperatures we had ourselves a pretty sweet spot. With almost a full acre of land and being on the waterfront it was any 20 year olds dream to do this for a summer.

With living in a cottage there comes a responsibility, throwing parties. We had a few, more so we had people over every night. We were known as the ‘cottage girls’ in the area and enjoyed the constant parties. Summer seems to have that kind of effect on people, you let go, live a little, less responsibilities in the summer. Well I drank my face off this summer, I know I write about beer but I’m talking  a lot of liqueur, wine (oh, I do LOVE my wine) and obviously beer. Slowly as the summer months crept on I started to notice my waistline begin to grow… I have always had problems with my weight, I fluctuate so easily.

When I decided that I was going to turn my love of beer into a blog I realized that I was going to have to actually start watching what I eat, and yes the dreaded – start going to the gym. Working in a restaurant doesn’t help me either, with all the deep fried food available to me… and burgers… pretty much my ultimate demise (Have you ever been to The Works? Destroys me every time.)

I’ve tried diets before, they don’t work for me. I have a hard time sticking to strict plans, so I realized it was a lifestyle choice I’d have to make. I pinned around looking for ideas (Pinterest is my best friend) and found a really good plan by Lauren Conrad, it’s called the Shape Up: Bikini Boot Camp. Now I’m not looking to do this to lose an extreme amount of weight, or even to lose weight at all. My main thing is I’ve lost a lot of muscle mass, I used to be toned if you can believe it. I knew I wouldn’t be able to just stick to that one plan so I talked to Alyssa and she referred me to the website Nerd Fitness. The website was a big shock, so many things on the website that are actually do-able. I looked through my options and did my research and what I needed to do. I found the Beginners Guide to the Paleo Diet and made the decision to try it out.

I can’t cut some things out completely (like some dairy, I don’t eat a lot of it anyway I’m one of those lucky people who are lactose intolerant.) I am thought trying to cut out Soda and bad carbs, because NOT ALL carbs are bad, it’s on what you eat and how much you eat of it.

Today was the first day of me eating healthy, I wanted to start off on November 1st, but told myself “What am I waiting for?” If I want to make a change, why wait two more days? Just do it now. So that’s what I’m doing, I started my day off with a delicious smoothie courtesy of Martha Stewart (she has some great recipes) and we’ll see how the rest of my day pans out. I think I might even go for a walk!

– The Beer Gypsy

Published by

The Beer Gypsy

Beer & Lifestyle Blogger based in Toronto, Canada.

Leave a Reply

