The Branch & Josef Mieto

This past week has been slightly ridiculous, I don’t think I’ve ever been so busy before.

Wednesday night my roommate Brandy and I decided to go out for dinner and a few drinks. For the few of you who actually know the area you can agree that there is minimal places to choose from. We weighed out our options and agreed that we wanted to go to The Branch, I’m so glad we did.

At around 7:00pm we decided to start taking a walk down the road to The Branch. We’re actually pretty lucky that we live within walking distance of Old Town Kemptville. Coming up to the restaurant you notice it’s a old stone building (Previously it had been other restaurants before, but they’ve cleaned it up a lot.) With two large windows upfront we noticed it was pretty full, unsure if we were going to get seating we went in side and quickly started scanning the room. Luckily for us there was a table for two right up front near the live music (which I’ll go into detail about in a bit.) Looking around I instantly fell in love with the place. Old photographs and art work on the walls, nice benches and I really liked their table choices. The restaurant is laid out so that the main focal point is the entertainment, while having the bar in the back part of the restaurant. The bar is small, but ideal for the size of the place. It was a really warm atmosphere.

Our server came over and gave us a drink and dinner menu, first things first I went straight to the beer. Only Craft Beer on tap,  which always makes me happy. I decided to get a Beaus Lugtread, it’s been awhile since I’ve had one. As we waited patiently to get out drinks, I started looking over the menu. They had everything from your regular soups & salads to pub food, even tex mex and southern soul food. As much as I wanted to try one of their specialties, I wasn’t overly hungry. So I decided I’d order the burger, which in the end turned out to be a great decision. The server came back over and ask us what we wanted. She was very polite and personable.

As we waited for our food to come we drank our beers and listened to the live music. One of the reasons that made us decide to go to The Branch was because Josef Mieto was performing. I’ve had the pleasure meeting him before since we actually had him come play at Lock in the summer.

Josef Mieto is folk singer-songwriter that is outstanding at what he does. “Organic Folk Melodies and world rhythms, thoughtful and poetic lyrics, blues infused folk with a hint of old fashioned country music..and a bit of rock n’ roll..” (www.josefmieto.com) just how Canadian Indie-Folk should be. Listening to originals then leading up with some covers from great artists like Damien Rice and Leonard Cohen, Brandy and I both agreed it was a great idea to come out. One thing Brandy and I do agree on is good beer music. I’m super happy I already have a copy of his album “Bad Eyes

It didn’t take too long for our food to come, nor did it take me long to eat it. (I also kinda eat waaay too fast sometimes.) It was honestly the best burger I’ve had in a really long time. So big kudos goes to the Chef who made it.

We ended the evening pretty early because we were expecting company back at the house. Over all it was a great evening and we’re planning on going on Halloween night too! Cannot wait!

– The Beer Gypsy

Published by

The Beer Gypsy

Beer & Lifestyle Blogger based in Toronto, Canada.

One thought on “The Branch & Josef Mieto

Leave a Reply

